AIIB appoints six new Advisory Panel members

AIIB offices

Global panel doubles in size with academics, political leaders and sector leaders to guide Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank’s strategy.

The Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank’s (AIIB) International Advisory Panel (IAP) has gained six new members, bringing the total number of panellists to 12.  The new appointees are:

CY Leung: Former chief executive of Hong Kong
Mr. CY Leung chairs several non-profit NGOs established in Hong Kong, including the Belt and Road Hong Kong Centre and the GX Foundation. He has been a vice chair of the National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference since 2017 and before that, he served four terms as chief executive of Hong Kong, China. He was part of the Executive Council and held senior positions during its political transformation. A surveyor by profession, Leung had participated in the land and housing reforms in China and helped prepare the first land sale in China in 1988.

Mari Kiviniemi: Former prime minister of Finland
Mari Kiviniemi was the 41st prime minister of Finland until 2011. She previously held various positions in the Finnish government, including minister of public administration and local government, minister for foreign trade and development and minister for European affairs. More recently she has been managing director of the Finnish Commerce Federation since 2019 and she served as OECD deputy secretary general from 2014 to 2018. She has been a member of many other boards including the Finnish National Opera Foundation and Blic Public Affairs as well as member of the supervisory boards of Lännen Tehtaat Oy and Leonia Bank. She holds a Master’s degree in Economics from the University of Helsinki.

Omobola Johnson: Former minister in Nigerian government
Dr. Omobola Johnson is Senior Partner of TLcom Capital, a venture capital firm with recent focus on deal flow generation, investment, and value generation in technology companies in Sub-Saharan Africa. Before joining TLcom, she was minister of communication technology for Nigeria where she focused on the launch and execution of the National Broadband Plan, and support for the Nigerian technology industry. Prior to serving in the Nigerian government, she gained over 25 years of consulting experience with Accenture, including five years as country managing director, working with companies in a variety of industries and transforming them into more competitive and dynamic organizations.

Andrey Bugrov: Senior VP at MMC Norilsk Nickel
Mr. Andrey Bugrov is a former principal resident representative of Russia and executive director at the World Bank. In 2013, he was chair of the B20 Transparency and Anti-Corruption Task Force. He has also served at the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) and has a B.A. and an M.A. in International Economics from the Moscow State Institute for International Relations, and he has a Ph.D. in economics.

Iwan Azis: Adjunct professor, Cornell University
Professor Iwan Azis is currently professor of Emerging Markets within the Dyson School of Applied Economics and Management. His research focuses on the interlink between macro-financial economics, social-institutional issues, and spatial inequalities in emerging markets. He was previously the director of graduate studies for the regional science programme at Cornell University and was director of the Inter-University Center for Economics and chaired the Department of Economics at the University of Indonesia, where he received his professorship in 1995.

Ha-Joon Chang: Professor of economics at University of Cambridge
Professor Ha-Joon Chang teaches economics at the University of Cambridge. In addition to numerous journal articles and book chapters, he has authored 16 books (five co-authored) and edited 11 publications. His books include The Political Economy of Industrial Policy, Kicking Away the Ladder, Bad Samaritans, 23 Things They Don’t Tell You About Capitalism and Economics: The User’s Guide. His writings have been translated and published in 42 languages and 44 countries. Worldwide, his books have sold over 2 million copies. He won the Gunnar Myrdal Prize in 2003 and the Wassily Leontief Prize in 2005.

The IAP supports the president and senior management on the bank’s strategies and policies and meets at least twice a year, either physically or virtually, including one meeting held alongside the bank’s annual meeting of the board of governors.

The President selects and appoints IAP members to an initial two-year term renewable upon completion. Panellists are not salaried but receive a small honorarium. AIIB pays the reasonable costs associated with panel meetings.